Experiment #13 – Oregano Pesto

Image

One of the many joys about a herb garden is the way you can experiment with how they’re used in cooking.  While in the garden the other day I noticed that my oregano was very bushy and on the verge of going to seed.  So I took a pair scissors to it; gave it a wee haircut; and came away with two big handfuls of cuttings all ready to be turned into pesto.

Image

And, now it is confession time.  Sometimes I forget to add an ingredient or two into a recipe.

In the case of the pesto, I remembered to toast the pinenuts.

Image

I remembered to add a few cloves of garlic.

I remembered to add a bit of lemon juice.

I remembered to add the olive oil.

Image

And, yes I remembered to add the oregano.

But, I forgot to add the parmesan cheese. . . . oops!

Surprisingly, it did not impact the flavour of the pesto. 

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 big handfuls of oregano
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic crushed
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1/4 c toasted pine nuts
  • 1/4c to 1/2c extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to season
  • Parmesan cheese (optional;))

 

Steps:

Pile all the ingredients, except the olive into a blender.  

Blend the ingredients for about 5 to 10 pulses.

Then, with the blender running, slowly add the olive oil.

Blend until all the ingredients are well blended.

Pour into a jar and seal.

The pesto will keep for up to a week in the fridge, unless devoured beforehand.

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

